Happy 25th, Internet!

This week marks the 25th anniversary of the Internet. It is mind-boggling to think how far we’ve progressed in terms of technology and communication. The internet has changed not only our daily lives, but that of the entire world. It has made us all global citizens and connected us forever.
But, it is still fun to look back and see when this thing called “the Internet” first came into our vernacular. The above video clip shows Katie Couric and her co-hosts discussing the Internet–or at least trying to! My favorite part is when they can’t figure out what the ‘@’ symbol is exactly. This clip makes me think about what might seem strange to people looking back on us in twenty years.
I remember getting my first computer when I was ten years old–it was this big clunky thing–but I was so excited. We had AOL as our service provider and I don’t think I’ll ever forget the dial tone sound of the computer ATTEMPTING to connect. But, when I did hear the “you’ve got mail” welcome message, I would be elated. Looking back at this phase of technology in my life is comical now, but back then, it was the best computers had to offer to our everyday lives.
Technology truly changes the way we do EVERYTHING and it will be interesting to see just how much more it will all evolve in the future.

Leave a comment

March 14, 2014 · 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

